Categories
symp_4

4th Annual Symposium on the Future Imaginary Videos


Video documentation of the 4th Symposium on the Future Imaginary.

Thursday, August 19

Welcome from the Partners
8:30 AM PDT | 9:30 AM MDT | 10:30 AM CDT | 11:30 AM EDT | 5:30 AM HST | 3:30 AM FRI, 20 NZST

Welcome from the Partners
8:30 AM PDT | 9:30 AM MDT | 10:30 AM CDT | 11:30 AM EDT | 5:30 AM HST | 3:30 AM FRI, 20 NZST

Introduction from each partner to provide a brief overview of their involvement and their organization.

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Davis Heslep (Western Arctic Moving Pictures)
Mandee McDonald (University of Alberta, Dene Nahjo)
Jason Edward Lewis (Initiative for Indigenous Futures)

Moderator: Dëneze Nakehk’o (Dene Nahjo)

Panel 1: Reciprocity in Knowledge Sharing – The Digital Age
10 AM PDT | 11 AM MDT | 12 PM CDT | 1 PM EDT | 7 AM HST | 5 AM FRI, 20 NZST

T’uy’t’tanat-Cease Wyss (IM4 Initiative)
Owisokon Lahache (Artist, Initiative for Indigenous Futures)
Melaw Nakehk’o (Artist)
Tania Larsson (Artist)

Panel 1: Reciprocity in Knowledge Sharing – The Digital Age
10 AM PDT | 11 AM MDT | 12 PM CDT | 1 PM EDT | 7 AM HST | 5 AM FRI, 20 NZST

This panel will touch on issues around the digital transmission of knowledge versus traditional ways of teaching. Is the lack of feedback through digital systems an unhealthy way of acknowledging where knowledge comes from? Are terms like self-taught dangerous? Is knowledge devalued when broadly available through digital platforms?

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Tania Larsson (Artist)
T’uy’t’tanat-Cease Wyss
(IM4 Initiative)
Owisokon Lahache
(Artist, Initiative for Indigenous Futures)
Melaw Nakehk’o (Artist)

Moderator: Dëneze Nakehk’o (Dene Nahjo)

Panel 2: Creativity and Indigenous Governance
12 PM PDT | 1 PM MDT | 2 PM CDT | 3 PM EDT | 9 AM HST | 7 AM FRI, 20 NZST

Mandee McDonald (University of Alberta, Dene Nahjo)
Gina Starblanket (University of Victoria, Indigenous Governance)
Daniel T’seleie (Dene Nahjo)
Amos Scott (Dene Nahjo)

Panel 2: Creativity and Indigenous Governance
12 PM PDT | 1 PM MDT | 2 PM CDT | 3 PM EDT | 9 AM HST | 7 AM FRI, 20 NZST

What are our visions for the future of Indigenous governance? How do we constitute a community/collective/nation? How do we think more broadly about, and bring forward visions of, relationality in how we practice governance? How do digital technologies support this work?

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Daniel T’seleie (Dene Nahjo)
Amos Scott
(Dene Nahjo)
Mandee McDonald (University of Alberta, Dene Nahjo)

Moderator: Gina Starblanket (University of Victoria, Indigenous Governance)

Indigenous Futures: Rooted & Ascending” and “Trails and Overflow” a double Virtual Vernissage Extravaganza!
1 PM PDT | 2 PM MDT | 3 PM CDT | 4 PM EDT | 10 AM HST | 8 AM FRI, 20 NZST

Indigenous Futures: Rooted & Ascending” and “Trails and Overflow” a double Virtual Vernissage Extravaganza!
1 PM PDT | 2 PM MDT | 3 PM CDT | 4 PM EDT | 10 AM HST | 8 AM FRI, 20 NZST

AbTeC Gallery is thrilled to host two exhibitions in conjunction with the Symposium of the Future Imaginary, which will open with an interactive event including curatorial tours, statements by some of the artists, chatting, dancing and even light snacks (to be consumed by your avatar).

Indigenous Futures: Rooted and Ascending, curated by Melaw Nakehk’o, founding member of Dene Nahjo, is a mixed-reality exhibition, taking place simultaneously at Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre in Yellowknife, NWT (the first show of contemporary Indigenous art in the NWT!) and at AbTeC Gallery online. The virtual exhibition includes transmediated versions of the works in the physical gallery and offers a parallel avenue of access to the pieces. The artists in Rooted and Ascending engage with Indigenous Futurism, a social and cultural movement that celebrates the power of imagination, technology, and self-determination. They cast visions that describe, often through the lens of science fiction and cosmology, their own utopian ideals. Each artist, whether using technology or traditional techniques, explores what is possible. If colonial oppression did not exist, what would the future look like? Exhibiting artists include Kablusiak, Margaret Nazon, Riel Stevenson Burke, Robyn McLeod, Siku Allooloo, Casey Koyczan, and Cody Fennel.

Right next door to AbTeC Gallery, we have built a virtual version of Roaring Rapids Hall, a roundhouse community centre in Fort Smith, NWT, to house the exhibition Trails and Overflow, curated by Davis Heslep, Programming Director at Western Arctic Moving Pictures (WAMP).  A transmediated board game, photos, and a video comprise the works gathered in this show, reflecting ongoing work done at WAMP to bring digital media skills to local youth. 

AbTeC Gallery is an Indigenously determined virtual exhibition space for contemporary art, located on AbTeC Island in Second Life.

Join us inworld at AbTeC Gallery! For detailed instructions on how to get to there, please visit:
AbTeC.land or click here to view the beginner’s guide to Second Life.
You can also experience the vernissage via a video livestream. Go to the Facebook event page to watch!

Welcome & Technical Assistance by AbTeC
Skawennati (Co-Director, AbTeC)
Nancy Townsend
(Producer, AbTeC)

Gallery Tour by curators:
Melaw Nakehk’o (Artist)
Davis Heslep (Western Arctic Moving Pictures)

Friday, August 20

Panel 3: Using VR to Teach Language and Traditional Knowledge
9:15 AM PDT | 10:15 AM MDT | 11:15 AM CDT | 12:15 PM EDT | 6:15 AM HST | 4:15 AM SAT, 21 NZST

Laurie-Ann Lines, Ethan Black, Ali Abel, Cindy Jardine (Dechı̨ta Nàowo VR project)
Loretta Todd (IM4 Initiative)
LeeAnne Ireland (Urban Society for Aboriginal Youth, Thunder VR)
Casey Koyczan (Artist)

Panel 3: Using VR to Teach Language and Traditional Knowledge
9:15 AM PDT | 10:15 AM MDT | 11:15 AM CDT | 12:15 PM EDT | 6:15 AM HST | 4:15 AM SAT, 21 NZST

Throughout history, humans have developed different mediums and practices in preserving knowledge and culture. Virtual Reality (VR) is a medium which until recent years has been fairly exclusive due to the expensive technology and step learning curve in creating experiences. In recent years, this technology has become less expensive and more user friendly in the creation of 360/VR videos and 3D game environments through open-source game software like Unity. This panel will bring together an innovative, international group of cultural organizers using VR as a means to preserve and transmit language and traditional knowledge. We hope to construct this panel in groups of one organisational rep and one participant.

Panelists will discuss the trials and tribulations of creating these projects and the impacts they see that this technology will have on the future.

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Laurie-Ann Lines, Ethan Black, Ali Abel, Cindy Jardine (Dechı̨ta Nàowo VR project)
Loretta Todd
(IM4 Initiative)
LeeAnne Ireland
(Urban Society for Aboriginal Youth, Thunder VR)

Moderator: Casey Koyczan (Artist)

Panel 4: Indigenous Protocol and Artificial Intelligence
12 PM PDT | 1 PM MDT | 2 PM CDT | 3 PM EDT | 9 AM HST | 7 AM SAT, 21 NZST

Suzanne Kite (Initiative for Indigenous Futures)
Dr. Noelani Arista (McGill University Chair of Indigenous Studies)
Dr. Hēmi Whaanga (University of Waikato)
Scott Benesiinaabandan (Artist)
Jason Edward Lewis (Initiative for Indgenous Futures)
Michelle Lee Brown (Washington State University)

Panel 4: Indigenous Protocol and Artificial Intelligence
12 PM PDT | 1 PM MDT | 2 PM CDT | 3 PM EDT | 9 AM HST | 7 AM SAT, 21 NZST

This panel will reflect on possible Indigenous approaches to designing, making and deploying Artificial Intelligence systems. It will be grounded in reflections on the Indigenous Protocol and Artificial Intelligence Workshop and Position Paper, using that work as a launch point to discuss the challenges of deeply and respectfully integrating advanced technological systems into Indigenous frameworks for understanding and engaging with the world.

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Suzanne Kite (Initiative for Indigenous Futures)
Michelle Lee Brown
(Washington State University)
Dr. Noelani Arista
(McGill University Chair of Indigenous Studies)
Dr. Hēmi Whaanga
(University of Waikato)
Scott Benesiinaabandan
(Independent Artist)

Moderator: Jason Edward Lewis (Initiative for Indigenous Futures)

Saturday, August 21

Panel 5: Decolonial Tools
9:15 AM PDT | 10:15 AM MDT | 11:15 AM CDT | 12:15 PM EDT | 6:15 AM HST | 4:15 AM SUN, 22 NZST

Travis Mercredi (Outland Sound)
Jasmin Winter (Aabijijiwan, Artist)
Morgan Zoe (Artist)

Panel 5: Decolonial Tools
9:15 AM PDT | 10:15 AM MDT | 11:15 AM CDT | 12:15 PM EDT | 6:15 AM HST | 4:15 AM SUN, 22 NZST

Can digital tools assist in the process of de-colonisation? This panel will bring together indigenous technologists and artists to discuss how their indigeneity informs the materials and technology they use in their practice. Panelists will also discuss their process in developing their relationships with technology.

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Travis Mercredi (Outland Sound)
Morgan Zoe
(Artist)

Moderator: Jasmin Winter (Aabijijiwan, Artist)

Panel 6: Indigenous Digital Media Labs – Critical Mass
12 PM PDT | 1 PM MDT | 2 PM CDT | 3 PM EDT | 9 AM HST | 7 AM SUN, 22 NZST

Loretta Todd (IM4 Initiative)
T’uy’t’tanat-Cease Wyss (IM4 Initiative)
Jackson Two Bears (Artist, Onkwehonwe Research Environment)
Reneltta Arluk (Banff Indigenous Arts)
Jason Leigh (Laboratory of Advanced Visualizations/Academy for Creative Media, Honolulu)
Jason Edward Lewis (Initiative for Indigenous Futures)
Johnson Witehira (Indigenous Design and Innovation Aotearoa)

Panel 6: Indigenous Digital Media Labs – Critical Mass
12 PM PDT | 1 PM MDT | 2 PM CDT | 3 PM EDT | 9 AM HST | 7 AM SUN, 22 NZST

This panel will bring together the founders and/or directors of Indigenous-led, Indigenous-focused digital media labs and studios together to discuss the challenges of supporting Indigenous media creation and building capacity in digital technology with and for our communities. It will also discuss the exciting opportunities for regional, national and international collaboration now that we are attaining a critical mass of these Indigenous-determined spaces for creation and research.

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Loretta Todd (IM4 Initiative)
T’uy’t’tanat-Cease Wyss
(IM4 Initiative)
Jackson Two Bears (Artist, Onkwehonwe Research Environment)
Renaltta Arluk
(Banff Indigenous Arts)
Jason Leigh
(LAVA Laboratory of Advanced Visualizations / Academy for Creative Media, Honolulu)
Johnson Witehira (Indigenous Design and Innovation Aotearoa

Moderator: Jason Edward Lewis (Initiative for Indigenous Futures)

The Future of the Future Imaginary
9 AM PDT | 10 AM MDT | 11 AM CDT | 12 PM EDT | 6 AM HST | 4 AM MON, 23 NZST

Jolene Rickard (American Indian and Indigenous Studies Program, Cornell University)
Skawennati (Aboriginal Territories in Cyberspace)

The Future of the Future Imaginary
9 AM PDT | 10 AM MDT | 11 AM CDT | 12 PM EDT | 6 AM HST | 4 AM MON, 23 NZST

Our closing event is a wide-ranging and deep conversation between pre-eminent art historian Jolene Rickard and early internet art pioneer and IIF Partnership Coordinator Skawennati. They discuss creating Indigenous space in shared virtual environments, viewing digital media in continuity with existing cultural practices, being mindful of when co-presence is essential to community-building and -maintaining, meeting the challenges of adapting Indigenous protocols for online interaction so we can extend Indigenous territories, and thinking about the entire world as Indigenous. 

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Jolene Rickard (American Indian and Indigenous Studies Program, Cornell University)

Moderator: Skawennati (Aboriginal Territories in Cyberspace)

Closing Remarks
10 AM PDT | 11 AM MDT | 12 PM CDT | 1 PM EDT | 7 AM HST | 5 AM MON, 23 ZNST

Closing Remarks
10 AM PDT | 11 AM MDT | 12 PM CDT | 1 PM EDT | 7 AM HST | 5 AM MON, 23 ZNST

Video recording of the livestream can be found here.

Davis Heslep (Western Arctic Moving Pictures)
Mandee McDonald
(University of Alberta, Dene Nahjo )
Jason Edward Lewis
(Initiative for Indigenous Futures)